Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Sallisaw Election Will Be Feb. 13

Sallisaw residents will be choosing a mayor and commissioners for Wards 2 and 4 in a Feb. 13 city election.

City commissioners at the regular meeting Monday approved the resolution calling for the annual city election.

The filing period for the election will begin at 8 a.m. on Dec. 4 and will conclude at 5 p.m. on Dec. 6. Prospective candidates will file their declarations of candidacy at the Sequoyah County Election Board Office at 110 E. Creek in Sallisaw. The phone number is 918-775-2614.

At the present time Ro Poindexter is the Ward 2 commissioner and Daryl Legg is the Ward 4 commissioner. Jim Hudgens is mayor.

The Ward 2 and 4 posts are for three years each, and the mayor’s post will be for a two-year term.

If needed a run-off election will be held April 3.

Meredith Meacham Wilson, CPA, of RSMeacham CPAs and Advisors, presented the city’s audit to the commissioners.

She noted the city’s debt has decreased over the year by a little over $2 million and the city has a little over $400,000 to be spent as needed.

Overall, Wilson told the commissioners, “You have a clean audit.”

The commissioners also:

-Approved the purchase of a track-type tractor for $180,000.

-Approved increasing certain city fees.

-Approved leasing five acres on Eppler Drive for establishing a fire training facility.

-Approved the purchase of a 2017 Mack Cab and Chassis (garbage truck) for $236,700.

-Formally accepted a $450,000 Community Development Block Grant for wastewater treatment plant improvements.

-Approved the city’s financial responsibility for the Sallisaw Now Coalition.

Acting as the Sallisaw Municipal Authority, the commissioners approved a five-year contract with the LeFlore County Solid Waste Authority for garbage disposal services at the Sallisaw Landfill, expected to bring in about $185,000 a year.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit www.kxmx.com


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.