Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Cherokee Council Donates Office Equipment

The Cherokee Nation Tribal Council confirmed the reappointment of seven Cherokee Nation Businesses board members during their monthly meeting Monday night, and donated office equipment to several organizations in Sequoyah County and elsewhere.

Bob Berry, Gary Cooper, Harold Ray, Sam Hart, Michael Watkins, Buck Charles George and Jerry Holderby, all of Tahlequah, and Brent Taylor, of Pryor, will serve three-year terms that expire in November 2020.

The tribal council also approved the donation of various surplus office equipment to the Cherokee Action Association in Sequoyah County, Sequoyah County Boys & Girls Club, Calvary Indian Baptist Church in Cherokee County, the Jeremiah Foundation in Adair County, the Set Free Ministries in Sequoyah County, Marble City Food Pantry in Sequoyah County, Maryetta School in Adair County and the Town of Spavinaw in Mayes County.

“It’s a good day when tribal councilors can work with the Cherokee Nation administration to provide needed equipment to community organizations, schools and churches,” said Tribal Councilor Bryan Warner of Sallisaw. “In their own unique ways, these groups are making a positive impact throughout the Cherokee Nation for tribal citizens and non-citizens alike, and this equipment will allow them to better serve people within their communities.”

In other business, the tribal council approved the reappointment of James Amos, of Claremore and Anthony Yates, of Sallisaw as commissioners of the Housing Authority of the Cherokee Nation. Both will serve three-year terms that expire in November 2020.

The next meeting of the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council will be at 6 p.m. Dec. 11 at the W.W. Keeler Tribal Complex in Tahlequah.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit www.kxmx.com


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.