Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Local Students Awarded Scholarships

The Cherokee Nation Foundation announced last week the scholarship recipients for the 2015-16 academic school year. More than $134,000 is being awarded to eight high school graduates and 56 current university students.

Applications were evaluated based on academic achievement, community and culture involvement, and future plans to serve the Cherokee people.

"We are always impressed with the quality of the applications we receive, and this year was no exception," said Janice Randall, Cherokee Nation Foundation executive director. "These students have worked incredibly hard for their academic success thus far, and we are pleased to have the opportunity to help support them in the years to come."

Scholarship recipients from Sequoyah County are:

-Cynthia Bedford, Oklahoma City University, Cherokee Scholars

-Dawson Floyd, Crowder College, Cherokee Scholars

-Shelby Floyd, Carl Albert State College, Cherokee Scholars

-Hunter Hall, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

-Gideon Hallum, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

-Brett Howard, University of Arkansas/Fort Smith, Cherokee Scholars

-Emily Jeremiah, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

-Paige Jones, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

-Katlynn Kent, Central High School, Cherokee Scholars

-Cole McCrary, University of Oklahoma, Cherokee Scholars

-Gretchan Moore, Oklahoma State University, CNF/Oklahoma State University Scholarship

-Maggie Rogers, Oklahoma State University, Bill Rabbit Legacy Art Scholarship.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit

      Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.