Thursday, October 16, 2014

Cherokee Youth Council Sworn In

Seventeen Cherokee students from across northeastern Oklahoma pledged Monday to protect the Cherokee Nation Constitution and promote the tribe's culture and traditions. With hands raised in the air, the newest members of the Cherokee Nation Tribal Youth Council were sworn into office by Supreme Court Justice Darrell Dowty during Monday night's regular council meeting. Youth council members are Haylee Caviness, 17, of Tahlequah; Jacob Chavez, 17, of Tahlequah; Haley Teehee, 17, of Tahlequah; and Kaley Teehee, 17 of Tahlequah; Morgan Mouse, 16, of Welling; Ashton Shelley 17, of Park Hill; Summer Eubanks, 17, of Stilwell; Elizabeth Hummingbird, 17, of Stilwell; Sarah Pilcher, 16, of Westville; Cierra Fields, 15, of Fort Gibson; Blake Henson, 16, of Fort Gibson; Taylor Armbrister, 15, of Kansas; Bradley Fields, 15, of Locust Grove; Ashlee Fox, 17, of Bartlesville; Abigail Shepherd, 15, of Ochelata; and Cassidy Henderson, 15, of Welch. The Cherokee Nation Tribal Youth Council program started in 1989 and has 161 alumni, many who now work for the tribe. The 2014-15 youth council will meet monthly, and each member serves a one-year term.

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit

 Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.