Thursday, January 16, 2020

SPD, FOP Honor Their Own

Lt. John Owens, left, receives the Officer of the Year Award 
from Sallisaw Chief of Police Terry Franklin.

The Sallisaw Police Department and Lodge 148 of the Fraternal Order of Police celebrated one another’s accomplishments Wednesday at their annual awards banquet and dinner.

Tucker Martens, president of Lodge 148, said the yearly event is a way for local law enforcement officers to have a lighthearted meal and fellowship time away from their often difficult and sometimes dangerous jobs.

Those receiving awards Wednesday night include:

SPD Officer of the Year -- Lt. John Owens

SPD Civilian Employee of the Year -- Charles “Chuck” Owens

FOP Member of the Year -- Coty Biles

Distinguished Service Awards -- Blake Brunk and Capt. Beau Gabbert

Warrior Awards -- Blaine Griffey, Coty Biles and Officer Devin Harriman

Certificate of Excellence Awards--Josh Rogers and Chris Abner

Life Saving Award--Blaine Griffey and Andrew Edwards

Most Arrests--Chris Abner

Most Reports Completed--Chris Abner

Top Shot Award--Cole Hofstetter

Martens said Warrior Awards are given to officers to honor their ability to “rely on their training, their preparedness, their drive and their will,” he said.

The FOP also honored Lt. John Owens, who recently retired after more than 25 years with the SPD.

“We just want to show these officers that they are appreciated,” Martens said. “This is our time to come together as a family and celebrate all of our accomplishments” over the past year and to look ahead to 2020, he added.

Laura Brown, KXMX Staff Writer

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.