Thursday, April 26, 2018

Second Annual CASC Alumni Banquet & Awards Ceremony

The Carl Albert State College Alumni Association is set to host its second annual Alumni Banquet on Friday, April 27 at 6 p.m. in the Costner-Balentine Student Center on the Poteau campus. The Alumni Association will recognize the recipients of the 2018 Distinguished Alumni and Service Awards during the banquet. 

If you are a graduate of CASC or a friend of the institution, you are invited to join the CASC family for an evening of celebration, recognition and reminiscing. Tickets are $20 and advance registration is required. To purchase tickets, please call 918-647-1211. Limited seating available. 

Five individuals will be recognized throughout the evening. Recognition of these outstanding individuals ranges from their professional and personal achievements to their service, dedication and loyalty to CASC.

Matthew Huggins and Jeremy Warren will be honored as the two 2018 Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipients. 

Matthew Huggins is a native of Stigler, Oklahoma and a 1991 graduate of CASC where he was a member of the Scholars Program. He went on to graduate from Oklahoma State University then later served his country in the Oklahoma Army National Guard as a military police officer. He currently serves the Unisys Corporation as the Sr. Director of Operations for its Global Services division.

Jeremy Warren served as an active member of the CASC Scholars Program and earned an Associate of Science degree from CASC in 1991. He completed his Bachelor of Undergraduate Studies from the University of Oklahoma in 1993. Mr. Warren has devoted his professional life to a career in healthcare. He serves as CEO and President of Sans Bois Hospice and Compassion Home Care, a company that provides quality care and service to rural Oklahomans. 

Along with the Distinguished Alumnus Awards, the CASC Alumni Association will be recognizing Buddy Spencer, Kathy Quirk and Phyllis Philippart with Wall of Honor Service Awards.

Buddy Spencer is the proud owner of Blue Ribbon Auto Group in Sallisaw, Okla. Mr. Spencer was inducted into the CASC Hall of Fame in 2009 for his outstanding contributions to CASC Sallisaw. He has been a driving force in the expansion of the Sallisaw campus and continues to guide fundraising efforts for scholarships. Mr. Spencer serves as a CASC Development Foundation Trustee and chairman for the CASC Sallisaw Committee for Excellence. 

Kathy Quirk graduated from CASC in 1995 and began her career at CASC in 1999 as Administrative Assistant for CASC Development Foundation. In 2012, she became the Executive Director of the Foundation. Ms. Quirk successfully coordinated fundraising efforts for scholarships, academic excellence programs, residential housing, and other beneficial initiatives which directly benefit CASC and the students it serves. She retired from CASC in 2015.

Phyllis Philippart began her career with CASC in 1993 as the Student Support Services Coordinator for TRiO Programs. She was later named the Vice President for Student Affairs and served the students of CASC until her retirement in 2009. Ms. Philippart remains a proud member of the CASC family and currently serves as the Executive Director of the CASC State Assessment Services Program.

“This is my dream job,” said CASC President Jay Falkner. “I’m honored to serve as the President of an institution that produces our caliber of graduates. Our students are phenomenal; our alumni are phenomenal; the support system of our communities and its members are phenomenal. I’m thrilled to recognize the professional achievements of our alumni and to say thank you to the dynamic support system CASC has in its community members.”

KXMX News Staff

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.