Monday, April 14, 2014

County Assessor, State Senator Draw Opponents

The filing period for local, state and U.S. offices concluded at 5 p.m. Friday. All county positions have unopposed incumbents except for the County Assessor office.  However, several are seeking the state senate seat now held by Mark Allen of Spiro. The district attorney’s post, which serves four counties, will also be contested.

The contest period, to challenge any candidate and which rarely occurs, ends at 5 p.m. Tuesday.
Following are the filing candidates:
-County Assessor:  Donna Graham, 63, of Sallisaw, the incumbent, Democrat. She has drawn an opponent, Randy Byrd, 54, of Sallisaw filed as a Republican. This race will be decided in the Nov. 4 general election.
-County Treasurer: Tricia Yates, 57, of Sallisaw, the incumbent and a Democrat (unopposed).
-County Commissioner District 1:  Ray Watts, 45, of Muldrow, the incumbent, Democrat (unopposed).
-County Commissioner District 3:  Jim Rogers, 54, of Sallisaw, Democrat (unopposed).
Candidates for state offices are:

- State Senator: Mark Allen, 65, of Spiro, Republican; Tom Brennan, 42, of Poteau, Democrat; and Ann Weaver, 66, of Muldrow
-State Representative:  John Bennett, 39, of Sallisaw, Republican (unopposed).
-State Representative:  Ed Cannaday, 73, of Porum, Democrat, (unopposed).
Also filing with the state were:
-District 27 District Attorney:  Brian Kuester, 49, of Coweta, Republican; and Anne Mize, 42, of Broken Arrow, Republican.
-District Judge. No. 15:  Jeff Payton, 50, of Stilwell, incumbent; and Josiah Stone, 53, of Stilwell.
-Associate District Judge:  Kyle Waters, 36, of Sallisaw and Matt Orendorff, 32, of Sallisaw.
Other state and federal offices to be contested Nov. 4 and those filing for the posts are:
-Governor:  Mary Fallin, 59, of Oklahoma City, Republican and the incumbent; Chad Moody, 46, of Oklahoma City, Republican; Dax Ewbank, 38, of Guthrie; Joe Dorman, 43, of Rush Springs, Democrat; Richard Prawdzienski, 66, of Edmond, independent, Joe Sills, 34, Oklahoma City, independent; and Kimberly Willis, 51, of Oklahoma City, independent.
-Lieutenant Governor:  Todd Lamb, 42, of Oklahoma City, Republican and the incumbent; and Cathy Cummings, 52, of Oklahoma City, Democrat.
-State Auditor and Inspector:  Gary A. Jones, 59, of Cache, Republican and the incumbent (unopposed).
-Attorney General:  Scott Pruitt, 45, of Tulsa, Republican and incumbent (unopposed).
-State Treasurer: Ken Miller, 47, of Edmond, Republican and incumbent (unopposed).
-Superintendent of Public Instruction:  Janet Barresi, 62, of Oklahoma City, Republican and incumbent; Joy Hofmeister, 49, of Tulsa, Republican; Brian Kelly, 50, of Edmond, Republican; Jack Herron Jr. 68, of Norman, Democrat; John Cox, 50, of Hulbert, Democrat; Freda Deskin, 65, of Edmond; and Ivan Holmes, 77, of Oklahoma City, Democrat.

-Commissioner of Labor:  Mark Costello, 58, of Edmond, Republican and incumbent; and Mike Workman, 63, of Tulsa, Democrat.
-Insurance Commissioner: John Doak, 51, of Tulsa, Republican and incumbent; and Bill Viner, 61, of Moore.
-Corporation Commissioner:  Cliff Branan, 52, of Oklahoma City, Republican; and Todd Hiett, 46, of Kellyville, Republican;
-U.S. Senator:  James Inhofe, 79, of Tulsa, Republican and incumbent; D. Jean McBride-Samuels, 59, of Jenks, Republican; Erick Paul Wyatt, 35, of Norman, Republican; Evelyn L. Rogers, 61, of Tulsa, Republican; Ray Moye, 58, of Yukon, Republican; Matt Silverstein, 33, Democrat; Ray Woods, 78, of Fairview, independent; Aaron Delozier, 30, of Wichita Falls, Texas; and Joan Farr, 58, of Broken Arrow, independent.
-U.S. Senator (unexpired term of Tom Coburn of Muskogee):  Connie Johnson, 61, of Oklahoma City, Democrat; Patrick Michael Hayes, 39, Anadarko, Democrat; Jim Rogers, 79, Midwest City, Democrat; and Jason Weger, 31, of Norman, Republican; Kevin Crow, 46, of Chickasha, Republican; Eric C. McCray, 33, of Tulsa, Republican; T.W. Shannon, 36, of Lawton, Republican; Randy Brogdon, 60, Owasso, Republican; James Lankford, 46, of Edmond, Republican; Andy Craig, 41, of Broken Arrow, Republican; and Mark T. Beard, 54, of Oklahoma City, independent.
-Representative District 2:  Markwayne Mullin, 36, of Westville, Republican, and Darrel Robertson, 64, of Jay, Republican.
Tune in to KXMX 105.1 for all the latest election news, or visit online at


  1. Thanks for any other great article. Where else may anyone get that kind of info in such a perfect method of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the search for such info.

    Property Tax Records

  2. Wonderful website. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks for your sweat!

    What is SAAS


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.