Friday, November 16, 2018

Allen Sworn In for Third Senate Term

Senator Mark Allen

Sen. Mark Allen of Spiro has begun his third term in the Oklahoma Senate after being officially sworn in during a special oath of office ceremony at the State Capitol on Wednesday. 

“I am honored to continue my service in the Senate on behalf of the citizens of District 4,” Allen said.  “I’ve worked hard with my fellow legislators in the past eight years to create a brighter future for our state.  We’ve made great strides in several areas by strengthening the budgeting process, giving our teachers additional support and funding, and positioning the state to be on a path to greater prosperity for years to come. I look forward to building on that foundation during my next term in the Senate.”

Senate President Pro Tempore Designate Greg Treat congratulated Allen on his continued service in the Senate.

“Senator Allen has done an excellent job representing his constituents at the Capitol.  I’m grateful for his public service and I know he will continue to be a strong voice on behalf of District 4.”

Allen, whose district includes Sequoyah County and the northern half of LeFlore County, was elected to the Oklahoma State Senate in November 2010. Since then, he has served in many roles, including the Chair of the Energy Committee and Vice Chair of both the Transportation and Veterans and Military Affairs Committees.  In 2016, he was elected Majority Whip and appointed Sportsman’s Caucus Chair and Chairman of the Transportation Committee. He currently serves as the Chair of the Energy Committee, as well as a member of the Appropriations, Education, Rules, Transportation and Appropriations Subcommittee on Select Agencies. 

The Senate will hold a one-day organizational meeting on Jan. 8, and the 2019 session will formally get underway on Feb. 4.

Allen defeated Democrat Eddie Martin in the Nov. 6 general election.

Pam Cloud, Managing News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.