Saturday, June 3, 2017

County Has Three Precincts for Cherokee Election

Nine of the 17 Cherokee Nation Tribal Council seats are up in the Cherokee Nation’s general election being held today, June 3.

Voters in District 5, which is Sequoyah County, will cast their ballots at the Redbird Smith Health Center in Sallisaw, the Gore Police and Fire Station and Vian School’s B.J. Traw Gym.

The candidates as they will appear on the ballot are:

District 2: Cherokee County
• Freddie Ferrell
• Johnny Dewayne Hammer
• Leslie Hannah
• (I) Joe Byrd
• Claude Stover

District 4: Muskogee County
• Mike Dobbins
• Linda Sacks
• Teasie McCrary Jr.
• Sarah Cowett

District 5: Muskogee and Sequoyah counties
• E.O. Smith
• Dink Scott
• Uriah Grass
District 7: Adair County
• Clayton Harrington
• Virginia Holloway
• David Comingdeer
• (I) Frankie Hargis

District 9: Delaware and Mayes counties
• Edward Crawford
• Anthony Cochran
• Mike Shambaugh
• Clifton Hughes

District 11: Craig, Nowata and Mayes counties
• (I) Victoria Vazquez

District 10: Delaware, Mayes and Ottawa Counties
• Sharlyn Van House
• Brian Hartley
• (I) Harley Buzzard

District 15: Mayes and Rogers Counties
• Michelle Scarborough
• (I) Janees Taylor

• Rockne Miller
• Shane Jett
• Jay Neugin
• Mary Baker Shaw
• Linda Leaf Bolin
• Herbert Gootee
• Robin Mayes

If a candidate in a race does not receive 50 percent plus one, the two candidates with the highest number of votes will proceed to a run-off election. If necessary, a run-off election will be held July 22. 

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.