Monday, April 18, 2016

Candidates File for Office

The filing period for the 2016 election concluded at 5 p.m. Friday.

Following are the candidates for federal, state and county offices.

The candidates for U.S. Representative District 2 are: Democrat-Paul E. Schiefelbein, 57, of Tahlequah, and Joshua Harris-Till, 26, of Tahlequah; Republican-Markwayne Mullin, 38, of Westville (Mullin is the incumbent), and Republican-Jarrin Jackson, 30, of Claremore; and Independent-John McCarthy, 46, Afton.

Candidates for state offices are:

-State Representative-District 2: Democrat-Tom Stites, 60, of Sallisaw; and Republican-John Bennett, 41, of Sallisaw (Bennett is the incumbent).

-State Representative-District 15: Democrat-Ed Cannaday, 75, of Porum (Cannaday is the incumbent); and Republican-Don Herrold, 65, of Stigler. 

On the local level, candidates file at the Sequoyah County Election Board in Sallisaw. 

-County Clerk: Democrat-Julie Haywood, 39, of Sallisaw. (Haywood is the incumbent and since she did not draw an opponent, she will automatically return to office.)

-Court Clerk: Democrat-Vicki Beaty, 59, of Roland (Beaty is the incumbent and since she did not draw an opponent, she will automatically return to office.).

-County Commissioner-District 2: Democrat-Steve Carter, 62, of Gore (incumbent), and Bob Warren, 59, of Gore.

-County Sheriff: Democrat-Ron Lockhart, 53, of Sallisaw (incumbent), and Roy Coleman, 61, of Muldrow; and Republican-Greg Peters, 41, of Muldrow, and Republican Larry Lane, 47, of Vian.

The statewide primary election will be on June 28, and the primary runoff election, if needed, will be Aug. 23. The general election is Nov. 8.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit

   Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.