Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Individual FEMA Assistance Denied Again

Gov. Mary Fallin expressed disappointment last week that the federal government has denied the state’s appeal for individual assistance for residents and business owners in nine eastern Oklahoma counties, including Sequoyah County, affected by a winter storm and flooding that struck after Christmas.

In a March 11 letter, the governor asked Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to reverse its recent decision denying individual assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners affected by winter storm, ice, sleet and flooding that began Dec. 26. The assistance was sought for Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pushmataha and Sequoyah counties.

FEMA approved public assistance for 42 Oklahoma counties that were affected by the same storm and individual assistance for 33 Missouri counties and 11 Arkansas counties.

In the letter denying the appeal, FEMA officials said there was not enough individual loss and damage to warrant individual assistance.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit www.kxmx.com

   Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.