Monday, February 8, 2016

Disaster Aid Requested for County Residents

Sequoyah County is included in a request for aid from the federal government for disasters related to the winter storm which hit the area beginning Dec. 26.

Gov. Mary Fallin announced Friday that she has requested the major disaster declaration. Fallin requested individual assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners in nine counties, including Sequoyah County, as well as public assistance for municipalities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the storm in 41 counties.

In addition to Sequoyah County, the other counties for which individual assistance has been requested are Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, and Pushmataha.

The 41 counties for which public assistance has been requested are Adair, Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, McCurtain, McIntosh, Major, Mayes, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pittsburg, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Sequoyah, Tilman, Washita and Woods.

Preliminary assessments indicate 108 homes were destroyed and 99 others were damaged as a result of the storms. Additionally, an estimated $48 million in infrastructure damages and response costs have been identified in these counties.

The storm resulted in power outages for more than 200,000 homes and businesses statewide, numerous road closures and dangerous travel conditions in some areas. The storm is blamed for at least four deaths and 104 injuries.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit

   Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.