Monday, June 8, 2015

Sequoyah County FEMA Assessment Complete

A June 4 amendment  to the major disaster declaration for Oklahoma following the recent severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding now includes Public Assistance (PA) funding for 16 Oklahoma counties.

The amendment added Atoka, Bryan, Cleveland, Cotton, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, McClain, Okfuskee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Seminole, Stephens and Tillman counties to the declaration, making them eligible for funding to help repair or rebuild public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, water systems and utilities and public buildings such as schools, as well as emergency work such as debris removal and emergency protective measures.

Steve Rutherford, Sequoyah County Emergency Management Director, said Friday that Sequyah County will most likely be added to the list next week. He said FEMA completed an assessment of damages to the county on Thursday.

"The governor (Mary Fallin) has already designated the county as a disaster area. Now we are waiting on President Obama to sign the order," Rutherford said, adding Sequoyah County received at least $350,000 or more in damages to county roads and infrastructures. A Public Assistance designation will provide federal money for repairs to the following.

*  Local governments and special districts;
*  Private nonprofit organizations or institutions that own or operate facilities that are open to the           general public;
*  Federally recognized tribes; and
*  State government agencies. 

An Individual Assistance designation provides assistance to individuals who suffered from the disaster. The declaration also includes 13 counties--Atoka, Bryan, Comanche, Cleveland, Grady, Johnston, Kiowa, LeFlore, McClain, Oklahoma, Pittsburg and Pottowatomie--for individual assistance, or assistance to help survivors get back on their feet after the severe weather. 

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit

      Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.