Friday, June 19, 2015

Early Voting for Cherokee Nation Election Begins Tomorrow

The Cherokee Nation will hold its general election June 27 to elect the positions of principal chief, deputy principal chief and eight tribal council seats. A total of 42 polling precincts will be open to voters across the tribe's 14-county jurisdiction in northeast Oklahoma. 

All voters will vote for principal chief and deputy principal chief. The eight tribal council races up for election are District 1, District 3, District 6, District 12, District 13, District 14 and an at-large seat. Districts can be found on the above Cherokee Nation voting precinct map.

In races with more than one candidate, the winner shall be declared if one candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote. If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff election will be held July 25.

Early voting is also available at the Cherokee Nation Election Commission in Tahlequah. Early voting is available from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, June 20, and Tuesday, June 23, through Thursday, June 25. The Cherokee Nation Election Commission office is at 22116 S. Bald Hill Road in Tahlequah, about one-quarter mile east of the main tribal complex.

Citizens can hand deliver notarized ballots Tuesday, June 23, through Saturday, June 27. Should a runoff election be necessary for the office of principal chief or any tribal council seats, citizens who requested an absentee ballot for the general election will be automatically mailed a runoff election ballot.

If citizens did not request an absentee ballot for the general election June 27, they may still request one for a possible runoff election. Requests for runoff election ballots must be received in the election commission office by June 29. 

Election day polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Any questions about registration or to find a polling place, call the election commission at 918-458-5899 or 800-353-2895.

Some area polling places include:

Adair County

Bell-Bell Public School, Rt 5, Box 4470, Stilwell;

Cave Springs-Lyons Community Association Building, 463101 E. 914 Road, Bunch;

Chewey-Illinois River Ranch Clubhouse, 63320 S. 4625 Road, Proctor;

Stilwell-Ozark Electric, 470479 Hwy. 51, Stilwell;

Westville-Westville Public Schools, 500 W. Chincapin, Westville;

Sequoyah County

Belfonte-Belfonte/Nicut Community Center, 474894 Hwy. 101, Muldrow;

Gore-Gore City Hall, 201 S. Main St., Gore;

Marble City-Marble City Town Hall, 120 A. North Main, Marble City;

Muldrow-Cherokee Community Center, 603 N. Main, Muldrow;

Sallisaw-Cherokee Nation Housing Authority, 2260 W. Cherokee Ave., Sallisaw;

Sallisaw-Sallisaw United Methodist Church, 2100 McGee Drive, Sallisaw;

Vian-Vian Public Schools, 203 W. Hunter, Vian.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit

      Green Leaf Properties

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.