Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Filing Period Closes for Area Races

Candidates for the Sallisaw Board of Commissioners and for various school board posts in the county began filing their declarations with the Sequoyah County Election Board on Monday.

The races heat up in Sallisaw as three candidates entered the race for mayor, two are running for Ward 2 commissioner and three are running for Ward 4 commissioner.

Two races have also developed for school boards, in the Brushy School District and in the Liberty School District.

The filings for candidacy closed at 5 p.m. Wednesday. Following are the official candidates.

City of Sallisaw

-Ward 2 (three-year term)

Roena Poindexter, age 63, incumbent;

Philip Gay, 62;

-Ward 4 (three-year term)

Jonathan D. Richardson, age 41;

Shannon Vann, age 49;       

Robert Morris, age 72;

-Mayor (two-year unexpired term)

Jim Hudgens, age 73, incumbent;

Ernie Martens, age 61;

Robert Jamison, age 59.

School Board Posts

Belfonte School District

-Office #1 Mike Hyde, incumbent;

Brushy School District

-Office #1 Michelle Cooper, incumbent;

-Office #1 Dedra L. Davis;

Central School District I-7

-Office #3 David Slaughter, incumbent

Gans School District I-4

-Office #3 Kelly Youngblood, incumbent

Gore School District I-6

-Office #5 Ryan Hoog, incumbent;

-Office #3 Jerry Alan McGrew, incumbent;

Liberty School District C-1

-Office #1 Steve Gray, incumbent;

-Office #1 Luke Tucker;

Marble City School District

-Office #1 Pauline Pettit, incumbent;

Moffett School District

-Office #1 Donna Kay Castleberry;

Muldrow School District

-Office #3 Darin Huggins, incumbent;

Roland School District I-5

-Office #3 Charles A. Howard, incumbent

Sallisaw School District

-Office #3 Frank Sullivan III, incumbent

Vian School District I-2

-Office #3 Edward Barton, incumbent;

Indian Capital Technical Center (vo-tech)

-Roger Sharp, incumbent.

The elections will be held on Feb.13.

Sally Maxwell, Senior News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.