Monday, February 11, 2019

Filing Period Ends for Cherokee Nation Election

The filing period for the upcoming Cherokee Nation general election ended last week.

Candidates filed for the positions of Principal Chief, Deputy Principal Chief, and tribal council for Districts 1, 3, 6, 8, 12, 13, 14 and At-Large.

Filing for principal chief are Chuck Hoskin Jr., Dick Lay, David Walkingstick and Rhonda Brown-Fleming. Those filing for deputy principal chief include Meredith Frailey, Linda Sacks and Bryan Warner.

Candidates filing for District 1 council are Randy Dirteater, Rex Jordan and Ryan Sierra. Those filing from District 3 include Jim Crosby, Billy Flint, Brandon Girty, Wes Nofire, Larry Dean Pritchett, Debra Proctor and RJ Robbins.

District 6 councilman filings are Ron Goff, Gary Trad Lattimore and Daryl Legg. Candidates filing for the District 8 council position are Shawn Crittenden, Jodie Fishinghawk and Ralph F. Keen II.

Those filing for District 12 council member include Todd M. Branstetter, Phyllis Lay, Dora L. Smith Patzkowski and Don Scott. Buel Anglen and Joe Deere filed for the District 13 council position.

Keith Austin and Cara Cowan Watts both filed for the District 14 council position, while filings for the At-Large position include Steve Adair, Julie Coates, Pamela Fox, Wanda Hatfield and Johnny Jack Kidwell.

Filings are not official until they are certified by the election commission on Feb. 25, according to Marcus Fears, Cherokee Nation Election Commission administrator.

Voters have until March 29 to register to vote for the election, and the absentee ballot request deadline is April 19. Absentee ballots are expected to be mailed out starting April 30.

The Cherokee Nation general election is set for June 1, with early walk-in voting May 25, 28, 29 and 30. If a run-off election is necessary, it will be July 27.

Pam Cloud, Managing News Director

For more news stories stay tuned to The MIX 105.1 or visit


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.